Photograph thanks to Paddy Wildman

Despite the damp weather it was an enjoyable weekend at Horning Sailing Club, with plenty of activity. The main event was the Yeoman & Kinsman National Championships which took place over Saturday and Sunday on Hoveton Little Broad, attracting 19 Yeoman, of which 8 were visitors from both Norfolk Broads Yacht Club and Snowflake Sailing Club.

The racing started in relatively light winds on Saturday afternoon, Brian Baker (HSC) sailing Tiger Moth had a good start to the Championships, leading the fleet round the first lap, before dropping down through the fleet. It was also eventful, with one boat managing to pick up the starting buoy and sail it across the Broad, several taking penalty turns, and others managing to pick up weed on their rudders.  After close racing, it was Paul Barker sailing Brandy Bottle (NBYC) that took the first win, despite being over the line at the start. Second was HSC’s Toby Fields sailing Tanskey, with eventual overall winner Flip Dugdale sailing Firefly in third place (SFSC). The second race saw Firefly win, with Richard Whitefoot’s Fire Opal (SFSC) second, and Tanskey third.

By Sunday, conditions were drizzly and overcast, but a decent breeze meant that racing was enjoyed, if a little frustrating at times due to the wind shifts. The first race saw close competition at the front of the fleet, particularly between Brandy Bottle and Firefly, with Firefly leading the fleet home, Fire Opal second and Tanskey third. The second race of the day saw Firefly take another win to secure the overall Championships, and another solid performance from Tanskey resulting in second place overall. Third was Geoff Stubbs sailing Tara. By the final race the wind had shifted further round, with Firefly again in first place, Fire Opal second and Brandy Bottle third.


Photograph thanks to Paddy Wildman

The Yeoman & Kinsman Nationals trophy winners were:

·       Moores Trophy (Winning Helm) and J & N Trophy (Winning Crew) – Firefly – Flip Dugdale & Roger Hannant (SFSC)

·       Chairman’s Trophy (2nd overall) and Alan Wheatley Trophy (leading non-spinnaker) – Tanskey – Toby Fields & Daniel Blackwell (HSC)

·       Scott Salver (3rd overall) – Fire Opal – Richard Whitefoot & Matt Ellis (SFSC)

Meanwhile other activities at HSC included the continuation of the Sundown Series on Saturday afternoon/evening, which saw an enthusiastic fleet of dinghies participate, and a Down River race on Sunday. A strong fleet of Cruisers were joined by a couple of keelboats and a dinghy for the race to Thurne, with Peter Goshawk’s Grayling first over the water and on handicap in both directions, with Phil Montague’s Pickle finishing second in both directions on handicap – and George Brewis’s Amantani third.

Next week sees racing take place on Hoveton Little Broad.